Dialogue Tags!

I was reading kidlit.com and the first blog I saw was something that people really struggle with. It’s a fantastic article that you need to read if you are a writer of any form or genre. The article is called Hand-Holding in Dialogue Tags. It’s a really great article and it gives fantastic advice.

She says:
“I’d be a wealthy woman if I had $5 for every time I saw: “I’m sorry,” she apologized.”

And I groaned, because I have been that person. I have written that. I think we all have at one point or another and yes, it is definitely groan worthy. But the article does a good job of pointing out mistakes and not making you feel bad about it. She doesn’t say “give up writing forever, you no good lousy, blah blah blah.” She shows you how to creatively and cleverly write dialogue tags that are effective and aren’t cringe-worthy.

At the end of the article, she has a great piece of advice. Take out all of your dialogue tags and read it. Is it confusing? If so, how can you fix it? Does it convey what you want it to? If not, how can you fix it?

Overall, a very good blog post. I’ll be sure to remember and be conscious of my dialogue tags!

As always, keep writing!

Adrianna Davis

Published by

Adrinna Davis

Hello there! Not much to me, I'm just your average author and librarian who is obsessed with Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Merlin, Divergent, ect... who is married with two kids. :) And now blogger. I love children's lit and want to share with you all the amazing books I find!

Leave a Reply

