Life in the Fat Lane by Cherie Bennett

I just finished reading Life in the Fat Lane by Cherie Bennett. This book was really good.

It’s about a teenage girl, who is the absolute picture of perfection. She’s a beauty pageant winner, homecoming queen, rich, thin, gorgeous, talented, popular, and nice. Her family is an example of the ideal family. But her perfect life falls apart at the seems when she starts to gain weight that she can’t lose no matter what she does. From starvation, to dieting, Lara tries everything to go back to the way she was. But no matter what, the pounds keep on packing until she’s a size 24 and weighs 218 pounds.

Not only does she gain weight, but she finds out that her father has been having an affair for years. Her “friends” desert her, save her best friend, Molly, and her boyfriend Jett. But even those relationships get rocky.

In this novel, the main character has to figure out how to be happy, despite her size.

This hit home for me, as I’m sure it does most females.

I used to be a stick. I was always underweight. But when I hit my senior year of high school, in just a few short months, my weight escalated without me even really noticing. Suddenly, I was extremely fat, weighing over two hundred pounds, which looks even larger on my short 5′ 3″ frame. I went through a lot of what Lara went through in this book. While I was reading the words, I would cry, thinking, this is exactly how I felt. This is how I still feel now, despite being 23, a college graduate, and married to a man who thinks I’m beautiful. It is definitely a powerful book with a message that most people can relate to.

This novel made me think about myself and my views., and how what we look like and what society expects us to look like effects our views on ourselves and others.  I highly recommend it for anyone and everyone.

Published by

Adrinna Davis

Hello there! Not much to me, I'm just your average author and librarian who is obsessed with Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Merlin, Divergent, ect... who is married with two kids. :) And now blogger. I love children's lit and want to share with you all the amazing books I find!

Leave a Reply

