Dragon Storytime -January 22, 2020

Early Literacy Tip: Make reading a part of your daily routine. Establishing a routine helps ensure that reading is part of your daily schedule, such as at naptime and bedtime. It also creates times during the day that both of you can look forward to.

Welcome Song:

Bread and Butter

Marmalade and Jam

Let’s say hello as

(quickly, slowly, loudly, quietly, etc.) as we can!

This next song is a song I made up myself. It really helps get out their energy! We start off by hopping up and down, then swinging our arm, then waddling, side step, and finally sitting down and clapping. They always have so much fun with it, so I do it at every storytime!

I’m Gonna ___ Like A ____.

I’m gonna

hop hop like a kangaroo x4

I’m gonna

Swing swing like an elephant x4

I’m gonna

Waddle waddle like the penguins do x4

I’m gonna

Side step like the crabs do x4

We’re gonna

Sit down like good children do x3

Sit down for story time.

Book 1
Dragon’s Love Tacos

This book is sooooo cute! It’s so much fun for the kids, and parents will love it too!

Next is the Flannel board activity! For this, I made 5 knights and a dragon. I printed the pictures off and then glued a piece of flannel to the back of it.

5 Knights in Shining Armor

Five knights in shining armor,

Fearless and brave,

Went dragon hunting deep in a cave.

The dragon started breathing fire,

The knights’ knees were all aquiver,

So one little knight too off for the river! (repeat counting down to zero

Book 2
Not Your Typical Dragon

This is possibly my most favorite picture book! It is all of the feels. All of them! Kids will find it entertaining and parents will find it endearing. Such a wonderful book with a resounding message! I love it soooo much!

This is a great little song that kids will love and parents will die laughing over, because, of course, they pick up on the ending that goes over the kiddos’ heads!

I’m a Little Dragon

I’m a little dragon

Hear me roar

High in my castle

I feast and snore

When a brave knight knocks at my door I invite him in and feast some more.

Book 3: Dragon was Terrible! I really enjoyed this one as well, but less than the other two. The thing I particularly liked about this book was that it was about the art of storytelling and writing! So good!

Next up is a scarf activity. If you don’t have scarves, you don’t really need them! I didn’t have scarves, so we just used our hands! Great little wiggle. In retrospect, I probably should have done this one before the last book, because the kids started to get a little antsy and this would have given them some time to lose their wiggles!

We Are Dragons

We are dragons

We have wings (wave scarf like wings)

We can fly and do dragon things

We can breathe fire (hold scarf to your face and blow!)

Swish our long tails (wave scarf)

Travel for miles without leaving trails!

Roaring, soaring dragons fly (dance around and wave scarf)

And now it’s time for dragons to say goodbye.

Which, of course, leads us to our Goodbye Song!
Goodbye Song

Bread and Butter

Marmalade and Jam

Let’s say goodbye as

(quickly, slowly, loudly, quietly, etc.) as we can!

Craft

For our craft, we made shields! Super simple. We used paper plates, taped a piece of construction paper to the back of it, and colored on the front! I wanted to do something more dragon related than a shield, but didn’t have any money to buy supplies, so I had to work with what I had on hand. And even then, I had to go to our HQ to get the plates!

This was such a fun storytime! Dragons are always an awesome option that will appeal to both kids and kids at heart!

Follow me for more storytimes, programs, and book recs! Until then, stay safe, stay happy, and stay educated! xx

Adrianna

Published by Adrinna Davis

Hello there! Not much to me, I'm just your average author and librarian who is obsessed with Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Merlin, Divergent, ect... who is married with three kids. :) And now blogger. I love children's lit and want to share with you all the amazing books I find!

Leave a comment